Aside
0

It’s not a good sign of passion or effort when you spend the last weeks/days/hours before your final exams thinking about all the trivial things you will do once they are over. They are NOT over yet! Stop thinking about it. But of course, I can’t, here are some things I plan on doing:

  • Try to illustrate again. I can get all the expensive Adobe software for free from my university, which is the first perk I have come across so far from this expensive as balls school, so I intend to download and install all of them over the break anyway even if I will never use them. I wonder if this will be the time to buy an external mouse. I hate external computer stuff, but I can get it very cheaply or even free, so I might go for it. When will they invent a cordless charger though, my landlord’s phone can be scrolled with the rolling of eyes??? #StupidQuestions
  • Read the complete work of Rick Pearlstein.
  • Drink the [expensive] wines I received as presents earlier this term.
  • Bake something nice that I would not be able to do in Norway due to ingredient  surplus import charges/lack of availability full stop. Candidates include: Blueberry pie with Gruyère crust (Like Chuck does on Pushing Daisies), honey short bread with organic honey, Biscoff mudd cake, peanut butter sandies with organic peanut butter and raw nuts. I haven’t had much time to think about this, but I’m sure I’ll spend the next few days thinking about it instead of studying…
  • Criminal law is on my agenda and also (coincidentally!) my final exam for the semester. I wonder if watching the HBO documentary Gideon’s Army will count as “studying”. The movie is about public defenders in some of the poorest high-crime areas in the US, I guess it does not, but I will definitely see it once the aforementioned vacation starts. (How come “questions of criminal justice” can be so philosophically interesting, engaging, complex and morally challenging though? Because studying criminal law is NOT; it is combing through legislation relating to police powers and court proceedings for leave etc.)
  • Walk through the entire CBD ad hoc. Just to see it from different angles. I used to do this in London and it was the best thing I ever did when it came to “learning” the city. I would get lost and then try to find my way back on my own. I would have done this in Tokyo as well, but getting lost there seemed to have more serious consequences such as ending up too far away and not meeting anyone who spoke English (before I knew Japanese), or just getting lost within one station trying to get out etc. Sydney probably won’t offer these troubles because the signs are in English (scarce as they are) and it’s not that big, and I already know how to get home.
  • Actually my ulterior aim is to get to know the city traffic/parking a little bit more so that I can go there by bike. I have a new bike now that I have yet to actually use because I’m scared of the traffic in my neighborhood, but I will get over it and I look forward to it. I walk everywhere, even if it takes me 3 hours. I suspect that once I experience getting from point A to B in less than 30 minutes without paying for it, there will be no turning back.

Unrelated: Are all music videos bad? I say this having just watched the video for OneRepublic’s “Counting Stars” (and I like the song), but that only provoked the thought, it didn’t give birth to it; I cannot think of one music video ever that has added anything, for me anyway. It is always ridiculous seeming? Long, short, serious, “funny”, “artistic” or simple, it always comes off as douchebag-y to me. It’s not an indictment on the songs, I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

